Page 1 of 78 1231151 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 771

Thread: Who are you in a nut shell

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006

    Who are you in a nut shell

    maybe it's just me but I feel like there are some new people posting more often that I don't know too well. If you don't mind would you please respond with some SIMPLE info about yourself. I know this has sort of been done before but it's been a while so in the spirit of getting to know each other.... For anyone new.. My name is Debbie I'm a girl I'm 27 I live in CA I was dx (diagnosed) at 9.5 weeks ~failure to thrive I weigh around 95 lbs, and I'm 5'1 My PFT's stink I recently stopped working I have a thing for shoes I have a thing for bacon I'm single I like dogs not cats I like ice cream I'm super sarcastic and thats all I got I guess.....

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005

    who are you

    My name is Shannon
    I'm a girl
    I'm 29
    I live in IN
    I was dx (diagnosed) at 6 weeks - failure t0 thrive
    I weigh around 105bs and I am 5'2"
    My PFT's are in the 70s
    I am a mom to 3 (2 born out of my own womb)
    I recently stopped working to be a stay-at-home-mom
    I was a bilingual education teacher
    I have a thing for shoes
    I am somewhat of a hippie
    I'm married
    I like to read in the bathtub
    I like to sing in the car
    I like to laugh - if you make me laugh, we will be friends

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006

    who are you

    My name is Lauren
    I'm a girl
    I'm 28
    I live in Philadelphia, PA USA
    I was diagnosed at 2 due to recurring pneumonia 3x before the age of 2
    I am pregnant and weigh 129.5lbs. currently.
    I usually weigh 127lbs and am 5'3"
    My FVC is 75% and my FEV1 is 66%
    I work full time and have a BFA in Industrial Design
    I'm a bit of a control freak
    I get high on multi tasking
    I've moved every 4 years of my life. I've been to 7 clinics.
    I'm married since 2003.
    I am pancreatic insufficient and have never had a sinus surgery.
    I have one brother who does not have cf. His carrier status in unknown.
    There was no prior history of cf in my family.
    My mutations are G551D and DF508.
    I like a good sense of humor.
    I love to travel. My favorite place was Italy.
    I love gelato and caramel covered marshmallows.
    My favorite meal is Turkey, gravy, mashed potatoes and cranberry sauce.
    I like sunny warm winter days the best.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006

    who are you

    Name: Lauren
    Age: 26
    Location: San Diego
    Marital Status: married to Brad since 7/5/03
    CF severity: moderate lung damage FEV1 ~2.1L
    Occupation: environmental scientist; professional freelance writer
    Current health: lousy
    Hobbies: reading, writing and 'rithmatic
    Proudest moment: graduating from college
    Personal quote: "You never know how much you can face until you turn around and see that it's now behind you."
    Type of nutshell: pistachio

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004

    Who are you in a nut shell

    I'm a girl I'm 26 I was diagnosed when I was 9 or 10 months old, failure to thrive.
    I wiegh 137pds Im 5ft tall My FEV1 is 85% I work full time
    I like to be neatIm marriedno children I also like to travel,
    I love to laugh, my husband is good at getting me to laugh I have a kitty kat

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005

    who are you

    Well, I'm just a "mom", but I'll go ahead and introduce myself...

    Mom to Ethan (3 years old, I diagnosed him soon after birth, but didn't get his final diagnosis until he was 3 1/2 months old)

    Also mom to Kenzie (F508 carrier)

    Been married almost 8 years

    Been a stay at home mom for awhile (about 7 years) but have worked part-time off and on...going to school now to be a nurse

    Volunteer (and Co-Chairperson) for CFF/Great Strides

    I also live in Indiana (Wanderlost...where in Indiana are you from?)

    COLTS, Notre Dame, IU fan

    My daughter's a cheerleader, so in between taking care of the kids and house and studying, I watch her practice and compete.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006

    who are you

    My name is Chris
    I'm a guy
    I'm 34
    I live in CA
    I was dx (diagnosed) at 9 Mo with failure to thrive
    I weigh around 150 lbs, and I'm 5'6
    My PFT's great
    I am a Project Manager
    I love Hockey
    I have a thing for my wife
    I like dogs and cats
    I like Angel Food cake and Italian Food

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006

    who are you

    My name is Chris
    I'm a girl
    I'm 25
    I live in Vancouver, B.C. Canada
    I was dx at birth (meconium ileus)
    I weigh around 135 and am 5'6
    My PFT's are "In Progress"
    I'm a fashion designer and artist, but I went to college for classical voice performance
    I have a thing for guinea pigs
    I just started taking pottery classes
    I've been married for 8 months now
    I've been to Ireland, Sweden, France, Australia, and Mexico, all isolated incidents. Aus was my favourite by far!
    I love all animals
    I like sushi, fondue and smoked salmon
    I'm very sensitive with an uncontrollable, sometimes inappropriate sense of humour.

  9. #9

    who are you

    My name is Christy
    I'm a girl (I would hope so with a name like Christy)
    I'm 36
    I live in NC
    I was diagnosed at 4 years old after recurring malabsorption problems
    I weigh around 110 lbs, give or take 5 lbs from fluid (depends on how my kidneys are functioning)
    I am 5'5", but I think I am shrinking because of osteoporosis
    I love to exercise
    I have been as low as 87 lbs pre-tx, and hopefully will never weigh that again
    I have CFRD, irritable bowel syndrome, and chronic sinusitus among other things
    I had a lung transplant 11/12/01
    I received a lobe from my mom and one from my uncle
    I was the 4th living-related lobar tx done at Duke
    I am an RN, but have not worked as a nurse in over 8 years
    I am married to a wonderful man named Jason
    Our first anniversary is Feb 14th of this year
    I have a beautiful 11 year old daughter who is CF free!!
    I have a 4 month old toy poodle named Balin
    My husband always says I'm enigmatic, but I don't know what that means
    I am very bubbly.. probably sometimes annoyingly so
    I like to hum.. I do it all day
    I love to travel.. Italy and Maine are my two fav places that I've been
    I love myspace.. it's addicting
    My daughter is my hero.. she is the most courageous person I know.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003

    who are you in a nut shell

    My name is Diane
    Im 41 ( will be 42 next week)
    I'm divorced about 9 years now
    was diagnosed with cf at age 3 ( failure to thrive)
    was diagnosed with diabetes at 15
    was diagnosed with b.cepacia around 31 or 32
    I am 5'4 - 120 lbs.
    I am on disability, but also have a part time job as a housekeeper ....shhhhhhhhh
    I live alone with my pets
    I have 5 iguanas, 2 cats,1 skink, and a ton of fish. Oh yeah and an outside stray that i take care of.
    I am into muscle cars ( racing and building)
    Built my first motor at age 34. Still have the car, but been thru about 3 motors since
    Im in a car club and compete in shows (won 34 trophies) and also do judging at our car club shows.
    Used to be a lead singer in a band
    my fev1 is in the 40's somewhere
    I've had 3 embolizations and 1 sinus surgery
    I'm a very open and honest person and very outgoing

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts