Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Negative reaction to enzymes, anyone pretty familiar with them?

Negative reaction to enzymes, anyone pretty familiar with them?

Hey guys, first off sorry for having a ton of questions, I'm new to being treated for cf and this forum has been great.

I was wondering if anyone has ever has any adverse reactions to enzymes? I was prescribed zenpep and every time I take it I have an adverse reaction, the best way I can describe it which sounds odd is I basically have the symptoms that the enzymes are meant to help. I will have bad stomach pains as soon as I eat with them and then go to the bathroom where I have floating loose stool, but any other time my stool sinks normally. But what's worse is I get the worst intergestion ever with them like a tightness in my chest where I feel like I have to burmp, but cant, along with pain and tenderness in my upper right quadrant, like where my gallbladder or liver would be (possibly pancreas?) then I end up throwing up and getting very sick for the rest of the day. The symptoms will go away if I don't take them for the rest of the day, I will start feeling okay again the following day. My GI doctor told me to stop taking them, which I have and will follow up with my cf center and see what they can do, but I was wondering has anyone else had this experience?

I want to put some weight on and I know the enzymes are an important step, but they are making me feel terrible to the point I am eating worse and vomiting a lot more because of the symptoms they are causing. This has happened every time I've taken them which is about 7 times in total and I have taken them with my "safe meals" to make sure it isnt the food causing it.

I think you should contact your cf center right away about this. I have not heard of this being an issue for anyone before, but i do know there are different kinds of enzymes. Maybe you need a different brand.