PDA

View Full Version : how often to maintain pseudomonas

anonymous
06-11-2006, 08:24 PM
I have cultured pseudomonas for the last two years. I am 19 and I have been hitting antibiotics hard and am at the point of just maintaining rather than trying to erradicate. I am wondering how often others take antibiotics for pseudo. What is treatment regimen? And what do you take as far as inhaled/oral meds. Right now I am just getting started with Zithromax 3x a week. I need to make a decision on how often I should use antibiotics. Options given to me are just wait until I dont feel well or inhaled Colistin every other month or inhaled Colistin every 3 or 4 months. Or Cipro for a month at a time every 3 or 4 months. It concerns me to do a whole month at a time with the Cipro does anyone else use it for less than a month at a time?

coltsfan715
06-11-2006, 08:55 PM
I have cultured Psuedo since I was little and have only had one culture (about a yr ago) that came back without Psuedo, but it has reappeared after about 2-3 months.

When I was younger they had me on a regimen of 1 month on TOBI and 1 month on Cipro. Then I became resistant to Cipro after a short while. Then I was switched to 1 month on TOBI 1 month on Levaquin. That worked for a short while then I had a reaction to the levaquin (still unsure why). After that I was swiithed to 1 month TOBI 1 month Bactrim. I took thar for a while as well. I started having problem with TOBI and they took me off of it.