PDA

View Full Version : CFRD question



loveee12
03-29-2010, 01:49 PM
All of a sudden, my blood sugars have really spiked after meals. I've been taking the same dose of prandin (a little extra actually), and yet my blood sugars have been running nearly 100 higher the last few days. Is this possible? Can that really happen that fast, or do you think it's a malfunction of my monitor?

loveee12
03-29-2010, 01:49 PM
All of a sudden, my blood sugars have really spiked after meals. I've been taking the same dose of prandin (a little extra actually), and yet my blood sugars have been running nearly 100 higher the last few days. Is this possible? Can that really happen that fast, or do you think it's a malfunction of my monitor?

loveee12
03-29-2010, 01:49 PM
All of a sudden, my blood sugars have really spiked after meals. I've been taking the same dose of prandin (a little extra actually), and yet my blood sugars have been running nearly 100 higher the last few days. Is this possible? Can that really happen that fast, or do you think it's a malfunction of my monitor?

loveee12
03-29-2010, 01:49 PM
All of a sudden, my blood sugars have really spiked after meals. I've been taking the same dose of prandin (a little extra actually), and yet my blood sugars have been running nearly 100 higher the last few days. Is this possible? Can that really happen that fast, or do you think it's a malfunction of my monitor?

loveee12
03-29-2010, 01:49 PM
All of a sudden, my blood sugars have really spiked after meals. I've been taking the same dose of prandin (a little extra actually), and yet my blood sugars have been running nearly 100 higher the last few days. Is this possible? Can that really happen that fast, or do you think it's a malfunction of my monitor?

AnD
03-29-2010, 03:21 PM
If you use the One Touch, they had a recall of the strips recently: <a target=_blank class=ftalternatingbarlinklarge href="http://www.fda.gov/Safety/MedWatch/SafetyInformation/SafetyAlertsforHumanMedicalProducts/ucm202254.htm
">http://www.fda.gov/Safety/MedW...roducts/ucm202254.htm
</a>
If you don't use the One Touch, do check the fda site for your brand <img src="i/expressions/face-icon-small-wink.gif" border="0"> .

Or, if your strips have been stored in really nonideal conditions a lot lately it can affect them, or, it may be that you do just need a new monitor.

OR, you may be coming down with an infection, or your cycle can affect your blood sugars, or your cfrd could just be getting beyond what Prandin can handle well (been there...).

Have you started any new meds? Especially like prednisone? Steroids can affect your blood sugars like that.

There are LOTS of things to check I'm afraid <img src="i/expressions/face-icon-small-wink.gif" border="0"> .

I would check your strips (if you have an unopened container of them that isn't recalled, check with those),then if that's not the problem, get a back up meter (you really need one anyways) and compare readings. Sometimes the Sunday paper will have a coupon for a free meter or much reduced price, or the company website will sometimes have an offer for a free one- I get one everytime I have a really good coupon.

If it's not your strips or your meter, give your doctor a call and let them know what's going on <img src="i/expressions/face-icon-small-wink.gif" border="0"> . I hope it's just a meter problem <img src="i/expressions/face-icon-small-smile.gif" border="0"> .

AnD
03-29-2010, 03:21 PM
If you use the One Touch, they had a recall of the strips recently: <a target=_blank class=ftalternatingbarlinklarge href="http://www.fda.gov/Safety/MedWatch/SafetyInformation/SafetyAlertsforHumanMedicalProducts/ucm202254.htm
">http://www.fda.gov/Safety/MedW...roducts/ucm202254.htm
</a>
If you don't use the One Touch, do check the fda site for your brand <img src="i/expressions/face-icon-small-wink.gif" border="0"> .

Or, if your strips have been stored in really nonideal conditions a lot lately it can affect them, or, it may be that you do just need a new monitor.

OR, you may be coming down with an infection, or your cycle can affect your blood sugars, or your cfrd could just be getting beyond what Prandin can handle well (been there...).

Have you started any new meds? Especially like prednisone? Steroids can affect your blood sugars like that.

There are LOTS of things to check I'm afraid <img src="i/expressions/face-icon-small-wink.gif" border="0"> .

I would check your strips (if you have an unopened container of them that isn't recalled, check with those),then if that's not the problem, get a back up meter (you really need one anyways) and compare readings. Sometimes the Sunday paper will have a coupon for a free meter or much reduced price, or the company website will sometimes have an offer for a free one- I get one everytime I have a really good coupon.

If it's not your strips or your meter, give your doctor a call and let them know what's going on <img src="i/expressions/face-icon-small-wink.gif" border="0"> . I hope it's just a meter problem <img src="i/expressions/face-icon-small-smile.gif" border="0"> .

AnD
03-29-2010, 03:21 PM
If you use the One Touch, they had a recall of the strips recently: <a target=_blank class=ftalternatingbarlinklarge href="http://www.fda.gov/Safety/MedWatch/SafetyInformation/SafetyAlertsforHumanMedicalProducts/ucm202254.htm
">http://www.fda.gov/Safety/MedW...roducts/ucm202254.htm
</a>
If you don't use the One Touch, do check the fda site for your brand <img src="i/expressions/face-icon-small-wink.gif" border="0"> .

Or, if your strips have been stored in really nonideal conditions a lot lately it can affect them, or, it may be that you do just need a new monitor.

OR, you may be coming down with an infection, or your cycle can affect your blood sugars, or your cfrd could just be getting beyond what Prandin can handle well (been there...).

Have you started any new meds? Especially like prednisone? Steroids can affect your blood sugars like that.

There are LOTS of things to check I'm afraid <img src="i/expressions/face-icon-small-wink.gif" border="0"> .

I would check your strips (if you have an unopened container of them that isn't recalled, check with those),then if that's not the problem, get a back up meter (you really need one anyways) and compare readings. Sometimes the Sunday paper will have a coupon for a free meter or much reduced price, or the company website will sometimes have an offer for a free one- I get one everytime I have a really good coupon.

If it's not your strips or your meter, give your doctor a call and let them know what's going on <img src="i/expressions/face-icon-small-wink.gif" border="0"> . I hope it's just a meter problem <img src="i/expressions/face-icon-small-smile.gif" border="0"> .

AnD
03-29-2010, 03:21 PM
If you use the One Touch, they had a recall of the strips recently: <a target=_blank class=ftalternatingbarlinklarge href="http://www.fda.gov/Safety/MedWatch/SafetyInformation/SafetyAlertsforHumanMedicalProducts/ucm202254.htm
">http://www.fda.gov/Safety/MedW...roducts/ucm202254.htm
</a>
If you don't use the One Touch, do check the fda site for your brand <img src="i/expressions/face-icon-small-wink.gif" border="0"> .

Or, if your strips have been stored in really nonideal conditions a lot lately it can affect them, or, it may be that you do just need a new monitor.

OR, you may be coming down with an infection, or your cycle can affect your blood sugars, or your cfrd could just be getting beyond what Prandin can handle well (been there...).

Have you started any new meds? Especially like prednisone? Steroids can affect your blood sugars like that.

There are LOTS of things to check I'm afraid <img src="i/expressions/face-icon-small-wink.gif" border="0"> .

I would check your strips (if you have an unopened container of them that isn't recalled, check with those),then if that's not the problem, get a back up meter (you really need one anyways) and compare readings. Sometimes the Sunday paper will have a coupon for a free meter or much reduced price, or the company website will sometimes have an offer for a free one- I get one everytime I have a really good coupon.

If it's not your strips or your meter, give your doctor a call and let them know what's going on <img src="i/expressions/face-icon-small-wink.gif" border="0"> . I hope it's just a meter problem <img src="i/expressions/face-icon-small-smile.gif" border="0"> .

AnD
03-29-2010, 03:21 PM
If you use the One Touch, they had a recall of the strips recently: <a target=_blank class=ftalternatingbarlinklarge href="http://www.fda.gov/Safety/MedWatch/SafetyInformation/SafetyAlertsforHumanMedicalProducts/ucm202254.htm
">http://www.fda.gov/Safety/MedW...roducts/ucm202254.htm
</a><br />
<br />If you don't use the One Touch, do check the fda site for your brand <img src="i/expressions/face-icon-small-wink.gif" border="0"> .
<br />
<br />Or, if your strips have been stored in really nonideal conditions a lot lately it can affect them, or, it may be that you do just need a new monitor.
<br />
<br />OR, you may be coming down with an infection, or your cycle can affect your blood sugars, or your cfrd could just be getting beyond what Prandin can handle well (been there...).
<br />
<br />Have you started any new meds? Especially like prednisone? Steroids can affect your blood sugars like that.
<br />
<br />There are LOTS of things to check I'm afraid <img src="i/expressions/face-icon-small-wink.gif" border="0"> .
<br />
<br />I would check your strips (if you have an unopened container of them that isn't recalled, check with those),then if that's not the problem, get a back up meter (you really need one anyways) and compare readings. Sometimes the Sunday paper will have a coupon for a free meter or much reduced price, or the company website will sometimes have an offer for a free one- I get one everytime I have a really good coupon.
<br />
<br />If it's not your strips or your meter, give your doctor a call and let them know what's going on <img src="i/expressions/face-icon-small-wink.gif" border="0"> . I hope it's just a meter problem <img src="i/expressions/face-icon-small-smile.gif" border="0"> .